Galaxy Book5 Pro vs MacBook Air (M5)
Verified 2026-10-03
A factual specification comparison between the Galaxy Book5 Pro and the MacBook Air (M5).

Image: Samsung Electronics
Specs: source
View full specs
Image: Apple Inc.
Specs: source
View full specsKey differences
| Specification | Galaxy Book5 Pro | MacBook Air (M5) |
|---|---|---|
| Weight | 14-inch: 2.7 lb | 13-inch: 2.7 lb (1.23 kg), 15-inch: 3.3 lb (1.51 kg) |
| Display | 3K (2880x1800) WQXGA+ Dynamic AMOLED 2X touchscreen, multi-touch, identical specifications across both 14-inch and 16-inch sizes | Liquid Retina, 500 nits brightness, True Tone, 1 billion colors (P3 wide color) |
| Chipset | Intel Core Ultra 7 (Series 2), NPU up to 47 TOPS | Apple M5 (10-core CPU, up to 10-core GPU) |
| Storage type | 512GB or 1TB SSD | SSD, 512GB base (configurable to 1TB, 2TB, or 4TB) |
| Battery life | 16-inch model: up to 25 hours video runtime; 14-inch model: up to 21 hours video runtime | Up to 18 hours video streaming, up to 15 hours wireless web |
| Webcam | 1080p webcam with staggered HDR | 12MP Center Stage camera, Desk View support, 1080p HD video |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 7 | Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be) via Apple N1 chip |
| Ports | 1x HDMI 2.1, 2x Thunderbolt 4, 1x USB 3.2, 1x MicroSD, 1x headphone/mic combo | 2× Thunderbolt 4 (USB-C, up to 40Gb/s), MagSafe 3, 3.5mm headphone jack |
| Operating system at launch | Windows 11 (Copilot+ PC) | macOS |
| Resolution | 2880x1800 | 13-inch: 2560×1664 (224 ppi), 15-inch: 2880×1864 (224 ppi) |
Facts shown above are the specifications where both devices have a confirmed value and those values differ — not an indication that either device is better. Showing 10 of 12 differing facts, spread across categories — see the full specification table below for the rest.
Configurations
Galaxy Book5 Pro
- 512GB / 16GB RAM
- 1024GB / 16GB RAM
- 1024GB / 32GB RAM
MacBook Air (M5)
- 512GB
Cameras
Galaxy Book5 Pro
No camera data recorded.
MacBook Air (M5)
- Front · Center Stage: 12MP
Specifications
| Specification | Galaxy Book5 Pro | MacBook Air (M5) |
|---|---|---|
| Design & Build | ||
| Weight | 14-inch: 2.7 lb | 13-inch: 2.7 lb (1.23 kg), 15-inch: 3.3 lb (1.51 kg) |
| Dimensions | Not disclosed | 13-inch: 11.97 × 8.46 × 0.44 in, 15-inch: 13.40 × 9.35 × 0.45 in |
| Colors | Not disclosed | Sky Blue, Midnight, Starlight, Silver |
| Build materials | Not disclosed | Recycled aluminum enclosure |
| Keyboard | Not disclosed | Backlit Magic Keyboard with 78 (ANSI) or 79 (ISO) keys, Touch ID, and Force Touch trackpad |
| Display | ||
| Display | 3K (2880x1800) WQXGA+ Dynamic AMOLED 2X touchscreen, multi-touch, identical specifications across both 14-inch and 16-inch sizes | Liquid Retina, 500 nits brightness, True Tone, 1 billion colors (P3 wide color) |
| Resolution | 2880x1800 | 13-inch: 2560×1664 (224 ppi), 15-inch: 2880×1864 (224 ppi) |
| Refresh rate | 120 Hz | — |
| Peak brightness | Not disclosed | 500 nits |
| Performance | ||
| Chipset | Intel Core Ultra 7 (Series 2), NPU up to 47 TOPS | Apple M5 (10-core CPU, up to 10-core GPU) |
| Graphics | Not disclosed | 8-core GPU |
| Memory & Storage | ||
| Storage type | 512GB or 1TB SSD | SSD, 512GB base (configurable to 1TB, 2TB, or 4TB) |
| Memory type | 16GB or 32GB RAM | Unified memory, 16GB base (configurable to 24GB or 32GB) |
| Battery & Charging | ||
| Battery life | 16-inch model: up to 25 hours video runtime; 14-inch model: up to 21 hours video runtime | Up to 18 hours video streaming, up to 15 hours wireless web |
| Charging | Fast charging: 16-inch model up to 35% charge in about 30 minutes; 14-inch model up to 41% charge in about 30 minutes | MagSafe 3; both Thunderbolt 4 ports also support charging |
| Battery capacity (Wh) | Not disclosed | 13-inch: 53.8, 15-inch: 66.5 |
| Camera | ||
| Webcam | 1080p webcam with staggered HDR | 12MP Center Stage camera, Desk View support, 1080p HD video |
| Connectivity | ||
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 7 | Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be) via Apple N1 chip |
| Bluetooth | Not disclosed | Bluetooth 6 |
| Ports & Expansion | ||
| Ports | 1x HDMI 2.1, 2x Thunderbolt 4, 1x USB 3.2, 1x MicroSD, 1x headphone/mic combo | 2× Thunderbolt 4 (USB-C, up to 40Gb/s), MagSafe 3, 3.5mm headphone jack |
| Audio | ||
| Speakers | — | 13-inch: four-speaker sound system, 15-inch: six-speaker system with force-cancelling woofers |
| Software | ||
| Operating system at launch | Windows 11 (Copilot+ PC) | macOS |
| Security & Sensors | ||
| Biometric authentication | Not disclosed | Touch ID (integrated in keyboard) |
Sources & verification
MacBook Air (M5)
Verified 2026-09-30- Apple Inc.Manufacturer newsroomTier 1
- Apple Inc.Manufacturer specificationsTier 1
- Apple Inc.ManufacturerTier 1
Tier 1 sources are the manufacturer's own product pages, technical specification sheets, or support documentation. Tier 2 sources are reputable independent technical references, used only for facts that couldn't be confirmed from official documentation.