How To Block And Unblock Someone On Spotify?

How To Block And Unblock Someone On Spotify?

Spotify isn’t just a music streamer. It is a great place for listeners to dive into each others; listening activity, draw inspiration, or you know, just feel a little validated for their own listening choices. Social listening is a thing, and Spotify is the best place to do that. 

When you follow a person on spotify you can access a bunch of information about them – their playlists, their listening activity, the people they follow etc. It’s often said that a person’s playlist reflects their heart. But what if you do not want someone to have access to your heart? Spotify has a pretty simple way for you to shun someone out. 

Here’s how to block someone on Spotify

  • Go to the person’s profile whom you want to block.

You can do this by typing the person’s name into the search function, finding them from your list of followers or following, or select them from the friend activity section.

  • Click on the three dots
  • Select block
  • Hit block again to confirm

Don’t worry, the person you block won’t get a notification that you’ve blocked them. However, they’ll probably understand that they’re blocked when they notice the invisibility of your profile activity.

Also Read – Top 6 Best Shopify Competitors & Alternatives for Your Online Store

What happens when you block someone on Spotify

First, they are removed from your followers or following list. The blocked person would no longer be able to see your profile activity or list of followers or following. You will still be able to view their profile activity as long as they do not block you.

What could be the reason to block someone on Spotify?

It’s the same as why you block someone on Facebook or Instagram. Your Spotify profile should be a safe place for you. If you feel that the presence of a person is somehow maligning your social-listening environment, it’s a good reason to block that person. 

Your Spotify profile activity may not expose highly sensitive personal data, but it does expose information of very intimate nature. Protecting that from unsuitable people is your right.

How to unblock someone on Spotify?

If you change your mind or feeling excessively forgiving one fine morning and want to have them back as your Spotify friend, simply navigate to their profile → click on the three dots → select unblock. Please note that if that person had been following you on Spotify before you blocked them, unblocking won’t automatically put them back on your list of followers. They’ll have to follow you again manually.

Lest we confuse all of the above with blocking an artist on Spotify, let’s just discuss that aspect of Spotify too.

Also Read – Why Does Dynata Call You? Is It A Scam?

How to block an artist on Spotify?

Step one: Navigate to the artist’s page

Step two: Click on the three dots

Step three: Click on “Don’t play this artist” from the drop down.

That’s it. You’ll no longer hear their music on Spotify. But what if you change your mind about this too?

How To Block And Unblock Someone On Spotify?

How to see a list of blocked artists?

Sorry to break it, you are no longer able to see a list of artists that you have blocked. So, if you block an artist you love in a fit of rage or something, make sure you remember their name. The artists will still appear in your search results, so you’ll be able to unblock them if you so wish.

Also Read – What is Website Tinting and How to Turn it Off?

When did Spotify add the block feature?

The clamour among users for a way to block other users was there since the last decade. In 2018 Spotify started thinking about block feature but there was no way to block someone other than making a request to the company. Come 2019, Spotify added the feature that allowed you to block an artist. They gave you a way of never listening to an artist or a podcast that you don’t like. 

There still wasn’t a way for you to block an ex or someone you would’nt want seeing your profile activity. Finally, in the end of 2021 Spotify started rolling out the block user feature. The management said that it was a step towards ensuring better user experience ensuring a safe and positive environment for all Spotify users.

Conclusion

Privacy is a top concern in the modern world of online hyper-socializing. Believe it or not, some podcasts can really have a detrimental influence on your mind. Some  people can really meddle with the discipline and consistency you have achieved with hardwork and determination. It’s important to surround yourself with the right kind of people, everywhere. So. make good use of the block feature. Have a playlist filled with your kind of energy.