iPad mini (A20 Pro) vs iPad mini (A17 Pro)
Verified 2026-10-30
A factual specification comparison between the iPad mini (A20 Pro) and the iPad mini (A17 Pro).
Specs: source
View full specs
Image: Apple Inc.
Specs: source
View full specsKey differences
| Specification | iPad mini (A20 Pro) | iPad mini (A17 Pro) |
|---|---|---|
| Weight | 255 g (Wi-Fi); 263 g (Wi-Fi + Cellular) | Wi-Fi: 293 g; Wi-Fi + Cellular: 297 g |
| Resolution | 2316 x 1512 at 326 ppi | 2266x1488 at 326 ppi |
| Chipset model name | A20 Pro | A17 Pro |
| Wired charging | USB-C (20W USB-C Power Adapter included) | USB-C (charging, DisplayPort, USB 3 up to 10Gb/s) |
| Video recording | Rear: 4K at 24, 25, 30 or 60 fps; front: 1080p at 25, 30 or 60 fps | 4K at 24/25/30/60fps, 1080p, 720p, slo-mo |
| SIM | eSIM (Wi-Fi + Cellular models; no physical SIM) | eSIM only (Wi-Fi + Cellular models) |
| Operating system at launch | iPadOS 27 | iPadOS |
| Biometric authentication | Touch ID (top button) | Touch ID |
| Colors | Midnight, Starlight | Blue, Purple, Starlight, Space Gray |
| Peak brightness | 1200 | 500 |
Facts shown above are the specifications where both devices have a confirmed value and those values differ — not an indication that either device is better. Showing 10 of 20 differing facts, spread across categories — see the full specification table below for the rest.
Configurations
iPad mini (A20 Pro)
- 128GB
- 256GB
- 512GB
iPad mini (A17 Pro)
- 128GB
- 256GB
- 512GB
Cameras
iPad mini (A20 Pro)
- Rear · Wide: 12MP, ƒ/1.8
- Front · Landscape Center Stage: 12MP, ƒ/2
iPad mini (A17 Pro)
- Rear · Wide: 12MP, ƒ/1.8
- Front · Center Stage: 12MP, ƒ/2.4
Specifications
| Specification | iPad mini (A20 Pro) | iPad mini (A17 Pro) |
|---|---|---|
| Design & Build | ||
| Water resistance | IP67 (maximum depth of 1 meter up to 30 minutes) | Not disclosed |
| Weight | 255 g (Wi-Fi); 263 g (Wi-Fi + Cellular) | Wi-Fi: 293 g; Wi-Fi + Cellular: 297 g |
| Colors | Midnight, Starlight | Blue, Purple, Starlight, Space Gray |
| Dimensions | 195.3 x 132.6 x 5.4 mm | 195.4 x 134.8 x 6.3 mm |
| Stylus support | Apple Pencil Pro and Apple Pencil (USB-C), with hover | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C) |
| Display | ||
| Resolution | 2316 x 1512 at 326 ppi | 2266x1488 at 326 ppi |
| Peak brightness (nits) | 1200 | 500 |
| Display | 8.5-inch Super Retina XDR OLED display, nano-texture option on 256GB and 512GB models | 8.3-inch Liquid Retina (LED-backlit IPS), Fully laminated, Antireflective coating, Wide color (P3), True Tone, Supports Apple Pencil Pro / Apple Pencil (USB-C) |
| HDR support | Yes (XDR: 600 nits full screen, 1200 nits peak for HDR content) | Not disclosed |
| Performance | ||
| Chipset model name | A20 Pro | A17 Pro |
| Chipset | Apple A20 Pro (5-core CPU on 128GB/256GB models, 6-core CPU on 512GB model; 7-core GPU) | Apple A17 Pro: 6-core CPU (2 performance + 4 efficiency), 5-core GPU, 16-core Neural Engine |
| Battery & Charging | ||
| Wired charging | USB-C (20W USB-C Power Adapter included) | USB-C (charging, DisplayPort, USB 3 up to 10Gb/s) |
| Battery capacity (Wh) | 18.9 | 19.3 Wh |
| Camera | ||
| Video recording | Rear: 4K at 24, 25, 30 or 60 fps; front: 1080p at 25, 30 or 60 fps | 4K at 24/25/30/60fps, 1080p, 720p, slo-mo |
| Connectivity | ||
| SIM | eSIM (Wi-Fi + Cellular models; no physical SIM) | eSIM only (Wi-Fi + Cellular models) |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be) with 2x2 MIMO, Apple N1 chip | Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax) 2x2 MIMO |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 6 | Bluetooth 5.3 |
| Cellular technology | 5G (sub-6 GHz) and Gigabit LTE on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; Apple C2 modem | 5G sub-6GHz (4x4 MIMO) and Gigabit LTE (4x4 MIMO) on Wi-Fi + Cellular models |
| Positioning | GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass | Digital compass, Wi-Fi and iBeacon microlocation on all models; GPS/GNSS and cellular positioning on Wi-Fi + Cellular models |
| USB | USB-C, USB 3 (up to 10Gb/s), DisplayPort | USB-C, USB 3 (up to 10Gb/s) |
| Software | ||
| Operating system at launch | iPadOS 27 | iPadOS |
| Security & Sensors | ||
| Biometric authentication | Touch ID (top button) | Touch ID |
Sources & verification
iPad mini (A20 Pro)
Verified 2026-10-30- AppleManufacturer newsroomTier 1
- Apple Inc.Manufacturer specificationsTier 1
iPad mini (A17 Pro)
Verified 2026-10-03- Apple Inc.Manufacturer specificationsTier 1
Tier 1 sources are the manufacturer's own product pages, technical specification sheets, or support documentation. Tier 2 sources are reputable independent technical references, used only for facts that couldn't be confirmed from official documentation.